Past Lectures

Girls Behaving Badly: Jane Austen’s Wicked Women

Thu 3rd Oct 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Women behind the Lens

Thu 6th Jun 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

The Role of the Arts in the Cycle of Crime, Prison and Re-offending

Thu 9th May 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm
Updated on: 12/05/2019

Art UK: Uncovering the Nation’s Hidden Oil Paintings

Thu 4th Apr 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel – the black brow’d cantor

Thu 7th Mar 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

From Bronzes to Banksy

Thu 7th Feb 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Inspired by Stonehenge

Thu 3rd Jan 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Post War British Theatre: a second Golden Age?

Thu 6th Dec 2018 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

The Music and Life of Johann Sebastian Bach

Thu 1st Nov 2018 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

The Next Monthly Lecture

Velázquez – ‘The Great Magician of Art’

Thu 7th Nov 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Velázquez(1599-1660) was the leading artist in the court of King Philip IV of spain, noted for his portraits, of the spanish royal family and others, culminating in the production of his masterpiece Las Meninas in 1656.  This Lecture considers the way in which the artist raises questions about reality and illusion, via complex and enigmatic composition.                


 
The Lecturer: Douglas Skeggs
Douglas Skeggs read Fine Art at Magdalene College, Cambridge. He is a Writer, Artist, TV Presenter. Lecturer to many London art courses. Director of the New Academy of Arts. Author of 6 Novels.        


Venue: Stalbridge Hall

Lower Road
Stalbridge, Dorset DT10 2NF United Kingdom

Oganiser: The Arts Society Blackmore Vale


Upcoming Lectures

The Origins of our English Christmas

Lecturer: Roger Askew
Thu 5th Dec 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Rebuilding Ypres

Lecturer: Christopher Chanter
Thu 9th Jan 2020 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm