Past Lectures

Women behind the Lens

Thu 6th Jun 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

The Role of the Arts in the Cycle of Crime, Prison and Re-offending

Thu 9th May 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm
Updated on: 12/05/2019

Art UK: Uncovering the Nation’s Hidden Oil Paintings

Thu 4th Apr 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel – the black brow’d cantor

Thu 7th Mar 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

From Bronzes to Banksy

Thu 7th Feb 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Inspired by Stonehenge

Thu 3rd Jan 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Post War British Theatre: a second Golden Age?

Thu 6th Dec 2018 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

The Music and Life of Johann Sebastian Bach

Thu 1st Nov 2018 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

19th Century British Marine Painting

Thu 4th Oct 2018 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

The Next Monthly Lecture

Girls Behaving Badly: Jane Austen’s Wicked Women

Thu 3rd Oct 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Some Austen scholars consider that Jane Austen is much more subversive than is generally supposed.   In this lecture, Annalie Talent considers how far Austen rebels against expected codes of behaviour for women in her lifetime, with reference to her life and work.


The Lecturer: Annalie Talent BA
Annalie Talent has worked at several museums and writers’ houses, including Jane Austen’s House Museum in Chawton (where she currently works as Learning Officer), Dove Cottage and the Wordsworth Museum in Grasmere, and the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford. She has also worked as an eighteenth century maid at Wordsworth House in Cockermouth, Cumbria. She has a particular interest in literary houses and is currently researching contemporary artistic responses to writers’ houses and their collections. She has a degree in English Literature, has studied History of Art, and worked for several years as a teacher.


Venue: Stalbridge Hall

Lower Road
Stalbridge, Dorset DT10 2NF United Kingdom

Oganiser: The Arts Society Blackmore Vale


Upcoming Lectures

Velázquez – ‘The Great Magician of Art’

Lecturer: Douglas Skeggs
Thu 7th Nov 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

The Origins of our English Christmas

Lecturer: Roger Askew
Thu 5th Dec 2019 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

Rebuilding Ypres

Lecturer: Christopher Chanter
Thu 9th Jan 2020 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm